What happens when you disable TLS 1.0? 2

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to StumbleUpon

Our friend Robert Pearman has conducted a study on what happens when you disable TLS 1.0 on Windows Essentials server 2011, 2012 and 2012R2.

If you need to comply with PCIDSS regulations and just about every USA business does, then you’ve got little choice. June is your deadline.

The article shows you how to disable TLS and outlines what happens to each version of the product when you do.

Robert’s Conclusion?

I don’t think disappointed is the right word to use to explain my feelings on this subject. It was not completely unexpected that the older OSs may not function correctly with TLS 1.0 disabled, certainly following on from my article on SBS 2011 Standard I knew that some functionality around Remote Desktop Gateway would be affected.

What is frustrating is which features are affected. You could argue Client PC Backup is the most important feature of Essentials, and loosing that coupled with the loss of joining new PCs is possibly devastating to the product

Download your copy of Robert’s article


At Third Tier, helping IT Professionals is all we do.

Not a Third Tier customer yet? Let me introduce:  We’re Third Tier. We provide advanced Third Tier support for IT Professionals and MicroStaffing for IT consulting firms. Come on over, create an account  and follow our social media locations.

Third Tier Get Support BlogFeed Blog Twitter Twitter Facebook Facebook LinkedIn LinkedIN

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.

2 thoughts on “What happens when you disable TLS 1.0?

  • Jim

    June 2016 is upon us and disabling TLS 1.0 is officially required for PCI compliance. Any word on if Microsoft intends to fix the issue of the Client PC Backup feature breaking after disabling TLS 1.0?